CNC-controlled alloy blocker

CNC-assisted automated solutions for the high-quality surfacing of optical lenses and glasses require the precise recognition of markings. Only with this can perfect alignment in the processing of plastic blocks be achieved. Satisloh, a global leader in machine manufacturing, trusts in NET’s compact USB 3.0 cameras combined with the right lighting and optics. A good choice for reliable 24/7 industrial use.

 

Application

Satisloh is a pioneer in the field of environmental-friendly, alloy-free spectacle lens production. The automated solutions are more efficient, longer-lasting and even safer for staff due to the absence of heavy metal pollution. Unlike the older, conventional processes, the spectacle lenses are blocked and prepared for further processing fully automatically. Organic block-pieces and UV-curable adhesive are used. The procedure is considerably faster than the old-fashioned manual production process.

With multifocal lenses, the orientation of the lens plays a major role. Front-side progressive lenses have a free-form surface on the front of the blank. There are markings on this surface which have to be detected before the blank can be further processed. Satisloh has developed a software solution for this.

Challenge

The main aim was to optimize the vision system to support high-precision blocking and, at the same time, enable throughput increase. The necessary requirements for this are the perfect interaction of the image processing components and a high degree of reliability under industrial working conditions.

Solution

NET’s compact USB 3.0 cameras combined with the right lighting and optics result in a perfectly coordinated vision system, which produces precise measurements while maxing out the image processing speeds. The solution is designed for robust permanent use.

//

CNC gesteuerter Alloy-Blocker

CNC-gestützte automatisierte Lösungen für hochqualitative Oberflächenbearbeitung von optischen Linsen und Gläsern erfordern eine präzise Erkennung von Markierungen. Erst so ist eine genau Ausrichtung in der Verarbeitung von Kunststoffblöcken möglich. Satisloh, ein weltweit führender Maschinenfabrikant, baut auf die kompakten USB 3.0 Kameras von NET in Verbindung mit der passenden Beleuchtung und Optik. Eine gute Wahl für den zuverlässigen 24/7 Einsatz in der Industrie.

 

Anwendung

Satisloh ist ein Vorreiter umweltschonender, weil alloyfreier Brillenglasproduktion. Die automatisierten Lösungen sind effizienter, nachhaltiger und auch sicherer für das Personal, da es keine Schwermetallbelastung gibt. Im Gegensatz zu konventionellen, alten Verfahren werden die Brillengläser komplett machinell geblockt und zur Weiterverarbeitung vorbereitet. Zum Einsatz kommen organische Blockstücke in Verbindung mit UV-härtendem Kleber. Das Verfahren ist deutlich schneller als die alte manuelle Fertigung.

Bei Mehrstärkengläsern spielt die Orientierung des Glases eine wichtige Rolle. Front-side progressive Gläser haben eine Freiformfläche auf der Vorderseite des Planks. Darauf sind Markierungen, die für die weitere Verarbeitung detektiert werden müssen. Satisloh hat dafür eine Softwarelösung erstellt.

Herausforderung

Im Fokus stand eine Optimierung des Vision Systems, so dass höchste Blockpräzision unterstützt und gleichzeitig eine Erhöhung des Durchsatzes ermöglicht wird. Das sichere Zusammenspiel der Bildverarbeitungskomponenten und eine hohe Zuverlässigkeit unter industriellen Arbeitsbedingungen sind notwendige Voraussetzungen.

Lösung

Die kompakten USB 3.0 Kameras von NET in Verbindung mit der passenden Beleuchtung und Optik bilden ein optimal aufeinander abgestimmtes Visionsystem. Exakte Messergebnisse unter Ausschöpfung der Bildverarbeitungsgeschwindigkeiten werden so erzielt. Die Lösung ist für einen robusten Dauereinsatz ausgelegt.

//